Federal - HR 3755

"Women's Health Protection Act" (Abortion Without Limits Until Birth Act)


June 8, 2021


H.R. 3755, formally titled the "Women's Health Protection Act," is sponsored by Rep. Judy Chu (D-Ca.).  The bill is strongly supported by the Planned Parenthood Federation of America, NARAL, and numerous other pro-abortion activist groups.  A more accurate title for this radical bill would be the "Abortion Without Limits Until Birth Act."  The bill, if enacted and upheld by the federal courts, would invalidate nearly all state limitations on abortion, including waiting periods and women's right-to-know laws.  For example, it would invalidate state laws to protect pain-capable unborn children after 20 weeks fetal age -- and would require all states to allow abortion even during the final three months of pregnancy based on an abortionist's claim of "health" benefits, including mental health.  It would also invalidate nearly all existing federal laws limiting abortion.

For further information on this sweeping legislation, click here.  The Senate companion bill, sponsored by Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-Ct.), is S.1975.National Right to Life strongly opposes H.R. 3755.

Our Position


Original Sponsor 1

Co-Sponsors 213

Latest Actions See More/Less

  • Sept. 20, 2021Scheduled action — Full committee business meeting by the House Rules Committee.Noon, H-313, U.S. CapitolNew

  • Sept. 14, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 2

    Bishop, S. (D-Ga.)Clyburn, (D-S.C.)
  • Sept. 10, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 6

    Carter, (D-La.)Harder, (D-Calif.)Mfume, (D-Md.)
    Eshoo, (D-Calif.)Langevin, (D-R.I.)Thompson, B. (D-Miss.)
  • Sept. 3, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 13

    Bowman, (D-N.Y.)Lamb, (D-Pa.)Spanberger, (D-Va.)
    Bustos, (D-Ill.)Phillips, (D-Minn.)Stansbury, (D-N.M.)
    Craig, (D-Minn.)Scott, R. (D-Va.)Wexton, (D-Va.)
    Jeffries, (D-N.Y.)Sherrill, (D-N.J.)
    Kaptur, (D-Ohio)Slotkin, (D-Mich.)
  • Aug. 31, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 1

    Norcross, (D-N.J.)
  • Aug. 17, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 1

    Correa, (D-Calif.)
  • Aug. 13, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 1

    Malinowski, (D-N.J.)
  • Aug. 10, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 1

    Stevens, (D-Mich.)
  • July 22, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 2

    Luria, (D-Va.)Rush, (D-Ill.)
  • July 19, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 1

    Veasey, (D-Texas)
  • June 29, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 1

    Scott, D. (D-Ga.)
  • June 25, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 1

    Bourdeaux, (D-Ga.)
  • June 22, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 1

    Roybal-Allard, (D-Calif.)
  • June 15, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 1

    Axne, (D-Iowa)
  • June 11, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 9

    Aguilar, (D-Calif.)Hoyer, (D-Md.)Porter, (D-Calif.)
    Bass, (D-Calif.)Kildee, (D-Mich.)Quigley, (D-Ill.)
    Dingell, (D-Mich.)Leger Fernandez, (D-N.M.)Torres, (D-Calif.)
  • June 8, 2021 — Original cosponsor(s): 172

    Adams, (D-N.C.)Green, A. (D-Texas)O'Halleran, (D-Ariz.)
    Allred, (D-Texas)Grijalva, (D-Ariz.)Ocasio-Cortez, (D-N.Y.)
    Auchincloss, (D-Mass.)Hayes, (D-Conn.)Omar, (D-Minn.)
    Barragan, (D-Calif.)Higgins, B. (D-N.Y.)Panetta, (D-Calif.)
    Beatty, (D-Ohio)Himes, (D-Conn.)Pappas, (D-N.H.)
    Bera, (D-Calif.)Horsford, (D-Nev.)Pascrell (D-N.J.)
    Beyer (D-Va.)Houlahan, (D-Pa.)Payne (D-N.J.)
    Blumenauer, (D-Ore.)Huffman, (D-Calif.)Perlmutter, (D-Colo.)
    Blunt Rochester, (D-Del.)Jackson Lee, (D-Texas)Peters, S. (D-Calif.)
    Bonamici, (D-Ore.)Jacobs, (D-Calif.)Pingree, (D-Maine)
    Boyle, (D-Pa.)Jayapal, (D-Wash.)Pocan, (D-Wis.)
    Brown, A. (D-Md.)Johnson, E.B. (D-Texas)Pressley, (D-Mass.)
    Brownley, (D-Calif.)Johnson, H. (D-Ga.)Price, (D-N.C.)
    Bush, (D-Mo.)Jones, (D-N.Y.)Raskin, (D-Md.)
    Butterfield, (D-N.C.)Kahele, (D-Hawaii)Rice, K. (D-N.Y.)
    Carbajal, (D-Calif.)Keating, (D-Mass.)Ross, (D-N.C.)
    Cardenas, (D-Calif.)Kelly, R. (D-Ill.)Ruiz, (D-Calif.)
    Carson, (D-Ind.)Khanna, (D-Calif.)Ruppersberger, (D-Md.)
    Cartwright, (D-Pa.)Kilmer, (D-Wash.)Ryan, T. (D-Ohio)
    Case, (D-Hawaii)Kim, (D-N.J.)Sanchez, (D-Calif.)
    Casten, (D-Ill.)Kind, (D-Wis.)Sarbanes, (D-Md.)
    Castor, (D-Fla.)Kirkpatrick, (D-Ariz.)Scanlon, (D-Pa.)
    Castro, (D-Texas)Krishnamoorthi, (D-Ill.)Schakowsky, (D-Ill.)
    Cicilline, (D-R.I.)Kuster, (D-N.H.)Schiff, (D-Calif.)
    Clarke, Y. (D-N.Y.)Larsen, R. (D-Wash.)Schneider, (D-Ill.)
    Clark, K. (D-Mass.)Larson, J. (D-Conn.)Schrader, (D-Ore.)
    Cleaver (D-Mo.)Lawrence, (D-Mich.)Schrier, (D-Wash.)
    Cohen, (D-Tenn.)Lawson, (D-Fla.)Sewell, (D-Ala.)
    Connolly, (D-Va.)Lee, B. (D-Calif.)Sherman, (D-Calif.)
    Cooper, (D-Tenn.)Lee, (D-Nev.)Sires, (D-N.J.)
    Costa, (D-Calif.)Levin, (D-Mich.)Smith, Adam (D-Wash.)
    Courtney, (D-Conn.)Levin, (D-Calif.)Soto, (D-Fla.)
    Crist, (D-Fla.)Lieu, (D-Calif.)Speier, (D-Calif.)
    Crow, (D-Colo.)Lofgren, (D-Calif.)Stanton, (D-Ariz.)
    Davids, (D-Kan.)Lowenthal, (D-Calif.)Strickland, (D-Wash.)
    Davis, D. (D-Ill.)Lynch, (D-Mass.)Suozzi, (D-N.Y.)
    Dean, (D-Pa.)Maloney, C. (D-N.Y.)Swalwell, (D-Calif.)
    DeFazio, (D-Ore.)Maloney, S.P. (D-N.Y.)Takano, (D-Calif.)
    DeGette, (D-Colo.)Manning, (D-N.C.)Thompson, M. (D-Calif.)
    DeLauro, (D-Conn.)Matsui, (D-Calif.)Titus, (D-Nev.)
    DelBene, (D-Wash.)McBath, (D-Ga.)Tlaib, (D-Mich.)
    Delgado, (D-N.Y.)McCollum, (D-Minn.)Tonko, (D-N.Y.)
    Demings, (D-Fla.)McEachin, (D-Va.)Torres, (D-N.Y.)
    DeSaulnier, (D-Calif.)McGovern, (D-Mass.)Trahan, (D-Mass.)
    Deutch, (D-Fla.)McNerney, (D-Calif.)Trone, (D-Md.)
    Doggett, (D-Texas)Meeks, (D-N.Y.)Underwood, (D-Ill.)
    Doyle, (D-Pa.)Meng, (D-N.Y.)Vargas, (D-Calif.)
    Escobar, (D-Texas)Moore, (D-Wis.)Velazquez, (D-N.Y.)
    Espaillat, (D-N.Y.)Morelle, (D-N.Y.)Wasserman Schultz, (D-Fla.)
    Evans, (D-Pa.)Moulton, (D-Mass.)Waters, Maxine (D-Calif.)
    Fletcher, (D-Texas)Mrvan, (D-Ind.)Watson Coleman, (D-N.J.)
    Foster, (D-Ill.)Murphy, S. (D-Fla.)Welch, (D-Vt.)
    Frankel, (D-Fla.)Nadler, (D-N.Y.)Wild, (D-Pa.)
    Gallego, (D-Ariz.)Napolitano, (D-Calif.)Williams, (D-Ga.)
    Garcia, (D-Ill.)Neal, (D-Mass.)Wilson, F. (D-Fla.)
    Garcia, (D-Texas)Neguse, (D-Colo.)Yarmuth, (D-Ky.)
    Gomez, (D-Calif.)Newman, (D-Ill.)
    Gottheimer, (D-N.J.)Norton, (D-D.C.)
  • June 8, 2021 — Read twice and referred to: House Energy and Commerce.Congressional Record p. H2698