Federal - HR 532

A bill to protect babies with Down Syndrome


January 28, 2021


Rep. Ron Estes (R-KS), has introduced H.R. 532, the "Protecting Individuals with Down Syndrome Act." The bill would place a federal ban on the performance of abortions solely based on a pre-natal diagnosis of Down syndrome. Rep. Estes is the father of a child with Down Syndrome.

A companion bill, S. 75, has been introduced in the Senate by Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-OK).

These bills would also prohibit a woman being forced to abort her child after a Down Syndrome diagnosis.

Parents of unborn children diagnosed with Down syndrome are often encouraged to have an abortion. It is estimated that in the U.S., the abortion rate of children diagnosed in utero is approximately 67%. Other countries such as Iceland have abortion rates up to 100% for unborn children diagnosed with Down syndrome.

These children need to be protected, not punished, for having an extra chromosome. That is why National Right to Life strongly supports the passage of H.R. 532 and S. 75.

Our Position


Original Sponsor 1

Co-Sponsors 45

Latest Actions See More/Less

  • May 18, 2022 — Additional cosponsor(s): 1

    Cline, (R-Va.)
  • Feb. 28, 2022 — Additional cosponsor(s): 1

    Ellzey, (R-Texas)
  • June 24, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 4

    Brady, K. (R-Texas)LaTurner, (R-Kan.)
    Hinson, (R-Iowa)McClain, (R-Mich.)
  • Feb. 5, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 4

    Guest, (R-Miss.)Murphy, (R-N.C.)
    Moolenaar, (R-Mich.)Pfluger, (R-Texas)
  • Feb. 3, 2021 — Additional cosponsor(s): 6

    Joyce, (R-Pa.)McCaul, (R-Texas)Rose, (R-Tenn.)
    Keller, (R-Pa.)Miller-Meeks, (R-Iowa)Sessions, (R-Texas)
  • Jan. 28, 2021 — Original cosponsor(s): 29

    Aderholt, R. (R-Ala.)Herrell, (R-N.M.)Miller, (R-Ill.)
    Allen, (R-Ga.)Herrera Beutler, (R-Wash.)Mooney, (R-W.Va.)
    Babin, (R-Texas)Hice, (R-Ga.)Norman, (R-S.C.)
    Banks, (R-Ind.)Jackson, (R-Texas)Smith, C. (R-N.J.)
    Biggs, (R-Ariz.)Johnson, M. (R-La.)Stauber, (R-Minn.)
    Boebert, (R-Colo.)Jordan, (R-Ohio)Steube, (R-Fla.)
    Budd, (R-N.C.)Kelly, M. (R-Pa.)Weber, (R-Texas)
    Fischbach, (R-Minn.)Lamborn, (R-Colo.)Wenstrup, (R-Ohio)
    Greene, (R-Ga.)Latta, (R-Ohio)Williams, (R-Texas)
    Grothman, (R-Wis.)Mann, (R-Kan.)
  • Jan. 28, 2021 — Read twice and referred to: House Judiciary.Congressional Record p. H242