Federal - S428

Fiscal 2020 Consolidated Appropriations

Motion to Concur

Senate Roll Call Vote 428, 116th Congress, 1st Session

Date: December 19, 2019

Status: Motion agreed to


Our Position



McConnell, R-Ky., motion to concur in the House amendment to the Senate amendment to the bill that would provide $860.3 billion in discretionary spending for four of the twelve fiscal 2020 appropriations bills: Defense, Homeland Security, Commerce-Justice-Science, and Financial Services. It would provide $695.1 for the Defense Department, $68 billion for the Homeland Security Department, $73.2 billion for the Commerce and Justice departments and science and related agencies, and $23.8 billion for the Treasury Department, Internal Revenue Service, and other agencies. Among other provisions, it would provide $70.7 billion in overseas contingency operations funding, primarily for ongoing military operations in Afghanistan and other counterterrorism operations; $42.4 billion for military aircraft, including over $9 billion for the procurement of 98 F-35 planes; and $40 million for the operation and maintenance of the Space Force. It would provide $1.38 billion in funding for Customs and Border Protection for the construction of physical barriers along the U.S. southwest border. It would provide $22.6 billion for NASA activities and programs; $32.6 billion for the Justice Department, including $502.5 million to support state and local law enforcement activities under the Violence Against Women Act; and $7.6 billion for the Census Bureau. It would provide $425 million for Election Assistance Commission grants related improving federal election security. It would provide a 3.1% pay increase for all members of the armed forces and for federal civilian employees.

Related Bill

HR 1158 A bill to authorize cyber incident response teams at the Department of Homeland Security, and for other purposes.

Vote Breakdown

Yea 34 46 1
Nay 7 4 0
No Vote 4 3 1


  • Tammy Baldwin Yea
  • Michael Bennet Yea
  • Richard Blumenthal Yea
  • Cory Booker Not Present
  • Sherrod Brown Yea
  • Maria Cantwell Yea
  • Benjamin L. Cardin Yea
  • Thomas R. Carper Nay
  • Bob Casey Yea
  • Chris Coons Yea
  • Catherine Cortez Masto Yea
  • Tammy Duckworth Yea
  • Richard J. Durbin Yea
  • Dianne Feinstein Yea
  • Kirsten Gillibrand Nay
  • Kamala Harris Not Present
  • Maggie Hassan Yea
  • Martin Heinrich Yea
  • Mazie K. Hirono Yea
  • Doug Jones Yea
  • Tim Kaine Yea
  • Amy Klobuchar Not Present
  • Patrick J. Leahy Yea
  • Joe Manchin III Yea
  • Edward J. Markey Nay
  • Bob Menendez Yea
  • Jeff Merkley Nay
  • Christopher S. Murphy Yea
  • Patty Murray Yea
  • Gary Peters Yea
  • Jack Reed Yea
  • Jacky Rosen Yea
  • Brian Schatz Yea
  • Charles E. Schumer Nay
  • Jeanne Shaheen Yea
  • Kyrsten Sinema Yea
  • Tina Smith Yea
  • Debbie Stabenow Yea
  • Jon Tester Yea
  • Tom Udall Yea
  • Chris Van Hollen Nay
  • Mark Warner Yea
  • Elizabeth Warren Not Present
  • Sheldon Whitehouse Yea
  • Ron Wyden Nay


  • Lamar Alexander Yea
  • John Barrasso Yea
  • Marsha Blackburn Yea
  • Roy Blunt Yea
  • John Boozman Yea
  • Richard M. Burr Not Present
  • Mike Braun Nay
  • Shelley Moore Capito Yea
  • Bill Cassidy Yea
  • Susan Collins Yea
  • John Cornyn Yea
  • Tom Cotton Yea
  • Kevin Cramer Yea
  • Michael D. Crapo Yea
  • Ted Cruz Nay
  • Steve Daines Yea
  • Michael B. Enzi Yea
  • Joni Ernst Yea
  • Deb Fischer Yea
  • Cory Gardner Yea
  • Lindsey Graham Yea
  • Charles E. Grassley Yea
  • Josh Hawley Nay
  • John Hoeven Yea
  • Cindy Hyde-Smith Yea
  • James M. Inhofe Yea
  • Johnny Isakson Not Present
  • Ron Johnson Yea
  • John Kennedy Yea
  • James Lankford Yea
  • Mike Lee Nay
  • Mitch McConnell Yea
  • Martha McSally Yea
  • Jerry Moran Yea
  • Lisa Murkowski Yea
  • Rand Paul Not Present
  • David Perdue Yea
  • Rob Portman Yea
  • Jim Risch Yea
  • Pat Roberts Yea
  • Mitt Romney Yea
  • Mike Rounds Yea
  • Marco Rubio Yea
  • Ben Sasse Yea
  • Rick Scott Yea
  • Tim Scott Yea
  • Richard C. Shelby Yea
  • Dan Sullivan Yea
  • John Thune Yea
  • Thom Tillis Yea
  • Patrick J. Toomey Yea
  • Roger Wicker Yea
  • Todd Young Yea