Federal - S415

Fiscal 2020 Further Consolidated Appropriations

Motion to Concur

Senate Roll Call Vote 415, 116th Congress, 1st Session

Date: December 19, 2019

Status: Motion agreed to


Our Position



McConnell, R-Ky., motion to concur in the House amendment to the Senate amendment to the bill that would provide approximately $540 billion in discretionary funding for eight of the twelve fiscal 2020 appropriations bills: Labor-HHS-Education, Agriculture, Energy-Water, Interior-Environment, Legislative Branch, Military Construction-VA, State-Foreign Operations, and Transportation-HUD. It would provide $184.9 billion for the Labor, Health and Human Services, and Education departments and related agencies; $23.5 billion for the Agriculture Department and related agencies; $48.3 billion for the Energy Department and federal water projects; $36 billion for the Interior Department, Environmental Protection Agency, and related agencies; $5 billion for legislative branch operations; $110.4 billion for the Veterans Affairs Department, military construction, and related agencies; $54.7 billion for the State Department and related agencies; and $74.3 billion for the Transportation and Housing and Urban Development departments and related agencies. It would also include a number of other legislative provisions related to taxes, health care programs, and various federal program extensions. Among other provisions, it would provide $94.9 billion for the Health and Human Services department, including $41.7 billion for the National Institutes of Health and $25 million for NIH and Centers for Disease Control research related to firearm injury and mortality prevention. It would provide $96 billion for Agriculture Department domestic food programs and $3.1 billion for rural development programs; $16.7 billion for Energy Department nuclear security programs; and $9.1 for the Environmental Protection Agency. It would provide $11.3 billion for military construction and an additional $6.2 billion in emergency military construction funding for natural disaster-related repairs. It would provide $9 billion for State Department international security assistance, including $448 million for economic and security assistance for Ukraine. It would provide $49.1 billion for the Housing and Urban Development, including $23.9 billion for the Section 8 rental assistance voucher program. It would eliminate a number of health care-related taxes, including excise taxes on medical devices and on incremental costs of employer-sponsored health care plans above certain cost thresholds. It would establish federal match rates for Medicaid programs in Puerto Rico and other U.S. territories. It would raise the minimum age to purchase tobacco products from 18 to 21. It would reauthorize and extend a number of programs and authorizations, including to reauthorize the Export-Import Bank for seven years, the Terrorism Risk Insurance program through fiscal 2027, and the National Flood Insurance program through fiscal 2020. It would extend the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program through May 22, 2020, and it would reauthorize a number of visa programs and the E-Verify employment eligibility verification system through fiscal 2020. As amended, it would retroactively extend a number of expiring tax deductions and credits, including deductions for tuition expenses and paid family and medical leave and credits for renewable energy development. It would also extend tax relief provisions for individuals affected by natural disasters, and it would reduce the threshold after which taxpayers may deduct medical expenses exceeding a certain amount of their gross income.

Related Bill

HR 1865 A bill to require the Secretary of the Treasury to mint a coin in commemoration of the opening of the National Law Enforcement Museum in the District of Columbia, and for other purposes.

Vote Breakdown

Yea 39 31 1
Nay 2 21 0
No Vote 4 1 1


  • Tammy Baldwin Yea
  • Michael Bennet Yea
  • Richard Blumenthal Yea
  • Cory Booker Not Present
  • Sherrod Brown Yea
  • Maria Cantwell Yea
  • Benjamin L. Cardin Yea
  • Thomas R. Carper Nay
  • Bob Casey Yea
  • Chris Coons Yea
  • Catherine Cortez Masto Yea
  • Tammy Duckworth Yea
  • Richard J. Durbin Yea
  • Dianne Feinstein Yea
  • Kirsten Gillibrand Nay
  • Kamala Harris Not Present
  • Maggie Hassan Yea
  • Martin Heinrich Yea
  • Mazie K. Hirono Yea
  • Doug Jones Yea
  • Tim Kaine Yea
  • Amy Klobuchar Not Present
  • Patrick J. Leahy Yea
  • Joe Manchin III Yea
  • Edward J. Markey Yea
  • Bob Menendez Yea
  • Jeff Merkley Yea
  • Christopher S. Murphy Yea
  • Patty Murray Yea
  • Gary Peters Yea
  • Jack Reed Yea
  • Jacky Rosen Yea
  • Brian Schatz Yea
  • Charles E. Schumer Yea
  • Jeanne Shaheen Yea
  • Kyrsten Sinema Yea
  • Tina Smith Yea
  • Debbie Stabenow Yea
  • Jon Tester Yea
  • Tom Udall Yea
  • Chris Van Hollen Yea
  • Mark Warner Yea
  • Elizabeth Warren Not Present
  • Sheldon Whitehouse Yea
  • Ron Wyden Yea


  • Lamar Alexander Yea
  • John Barrasso Nay
  • Marsha Blackburn Nay
  • Roy Blunt Yea
  • John Boozman Yea
  • Richard M. Burr Yea
  • Mike Braun Nay
  • Shelley Moore Capito Yea
  • Bill Cassidy Nay
  • Susan Collins Yea
  • John Cornyn Nay
  • Tom Cotton Nay
  • Kevin Cramer Yea
  • Michael D. Crapo Yea
  • Ted Cruz Nay
  • Steve Daines Nay
  • Michael B. Enzi Nay
  • Joni Ernst Yea
  • Deb Fischer Yea
  • Cory Gardner Yea
  • Lindsey Graham Yea
  • Charles E. Grassley Yea
  • Josh Hawley Nay
  • John Hoeven Yea
  • Cindy Hyde-Smith Yea
  • James M. Inhofe Nay
  • Johnny Isakson Not Present
  • Ron Johnson Nay
  • John Kennedy Nay
  • James Lankford Nay
  • Mike Lee Nay
  • Mitch McConnell Yea
  • Martha McSally Yea
  • Jerry Moran Yea
  • Lisa Murkowski Yea
  • Rand Paul Nay
  • David Perdue Yea
  • Rob Portman Yea
  • Jim Risch Nay
  • Pat Roberts Yea
  • Mitt Romney Yea
  • Mike Rounds Yea
  • Marco Rubio Yea
  • Ben Sasse Nay
  • Rick Scott Nay
  • Tim Scott Nay
  • Richard C. Shelby Yea
  • Dan Sullivan Yea
  • John Thune Yea
  • Thom Tillis Yea
  • Patrick J. Toomey Nay
  • Roger Wicker Yea
  • Todd Young Yea