Federal - S9

Fiscal 2019 Disaster Relief Supplemental Appropriations


Senate Roll Call Vote 9, 116th Congress, 1st Session

Date: January 24, 2019

Status: Motion rejected


Our Position



McConnell, R-Ky., motion to invoke cloture (thus limiting debate) on the McConnell, R-Ky., for Shelby, R-Ala., substitute amendment to the Disaster Supplemental Appropriations Act. The substitute amendment would provide full-year funding for the seven remaining fiscal 2019 appropriations bills: Agriculture; Commerce-Justice-Science; Financial Services; Homeland Security; Interior-Environment; State-Foreign; and Transportation-Housing and Urban Development. It would provide $70.4 billion in fiscal 2019 for operations of the Homeland Security Department, including $5.7 billion for construction of a U.S.-Mexico border wall and $8.3 billion for Federal Emergency Management Agency disaster relief. It would extend for three years the status of immigrants under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals and Temporary Protected Status immigration policies. It would also modify the asylum process for unaccompanied minors, including by placing a limit on the number of applications accepted and approved annually. The substitute amendment would provide, in discretionary funding for fiscal 2019, $23 billion for the Agriculture Department and related agencies; $64.1 billion for departments of Commerce and Justice and other agencies such as NASA and the National Science Foundation; $23.4 billion in discretionary funding or financial services and general government appropriations; $35.6 billion for the Interior Department, the Environmental Protection Agency, and related agencies; $54.2 billion for for the State Department, foreign assistance and other international activities; and $71.1 billion for the departments of Transportation and Housing and Urban Development and related agencies. It would also provide $12.7 billion for natural disaster relief programs and would reauthorize a number of policies with lapsed authorities, including Violence Against Women Act programs and Temporary Assistance for Needy Families.

Related Bill

HR 268 A bill making supplemental appropriations for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2019, and for other purposes.

Vote Breakdown

Yea 1 49 0
Nay 43 2 2
No Vote 1 2 0


  • Tammy Baldwin Nay
  • Michael Bennet Nay
  • Richard Blumenthal Nay
  • Cory Booker Nay
  • Sherrod Brown Nay
  • Maria Cantwell Nay
  • Benjamin L. Cardin Nay
  • Thomas R. Carper Nay
  • Bob Casey Nay
  • Chris Coons Nay
  • Catherine Cortez Masto Nay
  • Tammy Duckworth Nay
  • Richard J. Durbin Nay
  • Dianne Feinstein Nay
  • Kirsten Gillibrand Nay
  • Kamala Harris Nay
  • Maggie Hassan Nay
  • Martin Heinrich Nay
  • Mazie K. Hirono Nay
  • Doug Jones Nay
  • Tim Kaine Nay
  • Amy Klobuchar Nay
  • Patrick J. Leahy Nay
  • Joe Manchin III Yea
  • Edward J. Markey Nay
  • Bob Menendez Nay
  • Jeff Merkley Nay
  • Christopher S. Murphy Nay
  • Patty Murray Nay
  • Gary Peters Nay
  • Jack Reed Nay
  • Jacky Rosen Not Present
  • Brian Schatz Nay
  • Charles E. Schumer Nay
  • Jeanne Shaheen Nay
  • Kyrsten Sinema Nay
  • Tina Smith Nay
  • Debbie Stabenow Nay
  • Jon Tester Nay
  • Tom Udall Nay
  • Chris Van Hollen Nay
  • Mark Warner Nay
  • Elizabeth Warren Nay
  • Sheldon Whitehouse Nay
  • Ron Wyden Nay


  • Lamar Alexander Yea
  • John Barrasso Yea
  • Marsha Blackburn Yea
  • Roy Blunt Yea
  • John Boozman Yea
  • Richard M. Burr Yea
  • Mike Braun Yea
  • Shelley Moore Capito Yea
  • Bill Cassidy Yea
  • Susan Collins Yea
  • John Cornyn Yea
  • Tom Cotton Nay
  • Kevin Cramer Yea
  • Michael D. Crapo Yea
  • Ted Cruz Yea
  • Steve Daines Yea
  • Michael B. Enzi Yea
  • Joni Ernst Yea
  • Deb Fischer Yea
  • Cory Gardner Yea
  • Lindsey Graham Yea
  • Charles E. Grassley Yea
  • Josh Hawley Yea
  • John Hoeven Yea
  • Cindy Hyde-Smith Yea
  • James M. Inhofe Yea
  • Johnny Isakson Yea
  • Ron Johnson Yea
  • John Kennedy Yea
  • James Lankford Yea
  • Mike Lee Nay
  • Mitch McConnell Yea
  • Martha McSally Yea
  • Jerry Moran Yea
  • Lisa Murkowski Yea
  • Rand Paul Not Present
  • David Perdue Yea
  • Rob Portman Yea
  • Jim Risch Not Present
  • Pat Roberts Yea
  • Mitt Romney Yea
  • Mike Rounds Yea
  • Marco Rubio Yea
  • Ben Sasse Yea
  • Rick Scott Yea
  • Tim Scott Yea
  • Richard C. Shelby Yea
  • Dan Sullivan Yea
  • John Thune Yea
  • Thom Tillis Yea
  • Patrick J. Toomey Yea
  • Roger Wicker Yea
  • Todd Young Yea