Issue Background

Congressional Caucus on Armenian Issues

The Congressional Armenian Issues Caucus works to strengthen the ties between the U.S. and Armenia and keep members of Congress engaged on Armenia-related issues. The Caucus advocates for increased trade and assistance to Armenia, self-determination for Artsakh and supporting U.S. recognition of the Armenian Genocide.

Established in 1995, the Congressional Caucus on Armenian Issues (Armenian Caucus) is an informal, bipartisan group of legislators dedicated to maintaining and strengthening the U.S.-Armenia relationship. The coordinated efforts of this diverse coalition of Congressional friends of Armenia and the Armenian American community help to raise awareness of Armenian American issues on Capitol Hill, with the White House, and with the American people.
Under their leadership, and with the hard work of Armenian-Americans throughout the country, membership in the Caucus has almost doubled since 2001 and continues to grow. In the second session of the 116th Congress, 126 Members of the U.S. House of Representatives serve on the Congressional Caucus on Armenian Issues.